Honorary Consul of the Federal Republic of Germany


Administrative district (counties): Galway, Clare, Limerick, Roscommon, Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal.

Honorary Consul: Professor Hans-Walter Schmidt-Hannisa

German Department
Arts Millenium Building,
Room AM 307
National University of Ireland



00353 (0)91 492239
office hours
Tuesdays 2-3pm, all other appointments by arrangement
The following services can be offered by the Honorary Consul
- Certification of signature on various legal documents, e.g. sales contracts, inheritance matter, notarial documents
- certification of photo copies
- life certificates
Passport and Visa application

The Honorary Consul accepts European passport applications for children under 6 years of age and children's passport application under the age of 10.

Please note, that the Honorary Consul cannot accept any other applications for Passports, German ID-Cards or Visa.

Those applications must be made in the German Embassy in Dublin.

Top of page